80 Favorites Films (#70-66)

Incidentally, this is a romcom group except for ‘Super B’. See also (80-76) and (75-71).

70. SUPER B (2002)

Director: Joyce Bernal
Starring: Rufa Mae Quinto, Marvin Agustin, Melanie Marquez, Mylene Dizon, Troy Montero

Quotable quote: “Todo na ‘to..” “Kanya-kanya na ‘to…”

Plotline: Bi is given a powerful ring by her suitor Lord that activates if worn by the right person. Eventually, Bi finds herself saving the world from the evil plans of influential celebrities known as the Flower Pot Girls.

Though her films are considered shallow and senseless by the intellectual and economic elite that label those who watch them as ‘jologs’ (in its most inhuman connotation), I still say Direk Joyce is an auteur. Her strength as a filmmaker is her colloquial sense of humor and parody. In her films, she mocks the same elitist audience that dislikes her style and does it in a manner that’s campy by utilizing dumb characters especially in her movies with Rufa Mae. By watching her films, the ‘jologs’ audience have the chance to laugh at those people who believe their intelligence quotient is way, way higher than them.

Favorite scene: Ruffa Mae, in her first transformation from Bi to Super B, twists her head 360 degrees, 100 times and spits out green mucus ala The Exorcist. Also, when Super B gets the chance to face the Flower Pot Girls, the villains out of spite, cartwheels from Monumento to Luneta. Super B chases them by cartwheeling too.

Note: I find ‘Booba’ funny too especially the last scene where John Estrada is in the hospital. Rufa Mae visits her and after proclaiming love for each other, Ruffa Mae faces the camera and says “theme song naman dyan…” and sings “Kailangan ko’y ikaw” in her usual hilarious Rufa Mae self.

69. MY BEST FRIEND’S WEDDING (1997)

” Julianne fell in love with her best friend
the day he decided to marry someone else.”

Director: P. J. Hogan
Starring: Julia Roberts, Dermot Mulroney, Rupert Everett, Cameron Diaz

Theme Song: Say a little prayer – Diana King

Quotable quote: “Michael… I love you. I’ve loved you for nine years, I’ve just been too arrogant and scared to realize it, and… well, now I’m just scared. So, I realize this comes at a very inopportune time but I really have this gigantic favor to ask of you. Choose me. Marry me. Let me make you happy. Oh, that sounds like three favors, doesn’t it?”

Plotline: Julianne fell in love with her best friend the day he decided to marry someone else.

Who doesn’t love My Best Friend’s Wedding? Around 1.5 per cent of the population, I guess. The film created another definition of ‘happy ending’.

Favorite scene: Tourboat scene where Julianne sheds a tear; Kimmy and Julianne’s confrontation in the public rest room with the other ladies watching and reacting in perfect synchronized harmony; George and Julianne dance at the wedding reception.

68. 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU (1999)

” How do I loathe thee? Let me count the ways.”

Director: Gil Junger
Starring: Heath Ledger, Julia Stiles, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Larisa Oleynik

Theme song: I want you to want me – Letters to Cleo

Quotable Quote: “I hate the way you talk to me, and the way you cut your hair. I hate the way you drive my car. I hate it when you stare. I hate your big dumb combat boots, and the way you read my mind. I hate you so much it makes me sick; it even makes me rhyme. I hate the way you’re always right. I hate it when you lie. I hate it when you make me laugh, even worse when you make me cry. I hate it when you’re not around, and the fact that you didn’t call. But mostly I hate the way I don’t hate you. Not even close, not even a little bit, not even at all.”

Plotline: A remake of the classic Shakespare play “The Taming of the Shrew.”, set in a modern day highschool.

So this film ends with a prom (like almost every soap opera and love story ends in a wedding) but what the heck, I love Julia Stiles. She is not effing strikingly beautiful but she’s loveable and very effective as a social disaster. She and Heath have a great chemistry together. Makes you want to fall in love right after seeing this film.

Favorite scene: Heath Ledger sings “Can’t take my eyes of you”.

67. FOUR WEDDINGS AND A FUNERAL (1994)

” He’s quite engaging. She’s otherwise engaged.”

Director: Mike Newell
Starring: Hugh Grant, Andie McDowell, Simon Callow, Kristin Scott Thomas

Theme song: Love is all around – Wet Wet Wet

Plotline: The film follows the fortunes of Charles and his friends as they wonder if they will every find true love and marry. Charles thinks he’s found “Miss Right” in Carrie, an American. This British subtle comedy revolves around Charlie, his friends and the four weddings and one funeral which they attend.

Argh. So much about one-way chickens and the frustration of attending a wedding ceremony wishing you’re the one facing the altar. Hugh Grant is very adorable in his stuttering mode. And this is the first British film I’ve seen.

Favorite scene: Henrietta confesses her love for Charles but Charles doesn’t love her (eventually marries her because of desperation). Later that night, Gareth dies of heart attack at the party.

66. WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING (1995)

“A story about love at second sight.”

Director: John Turteltaub
Starring: Sandra Bullock, Bill Pullman, Peter Gallagher

Plotline: Ticket collecting romantic pretends to be engaged to an unconscious man but can’t fool his brother.

I remember I was so smitten by Bill Pullman though I’ve seen this after I got burned by his hotness in Independence Day. Just so lovely to think about being mistaken as a coma patient’s fiancee and falling in love with his brother in the process. I want to watch this film the second time I’ve already forgotten the scenes. Still, I found it funny and romantic the first time.

10 thoughts on “80 Favorites Films (#70-66)

  1. Haha!
    Gus2ng gus2 ko rin yang Super B… lalo na ung Cartwheel scene… hahaha!!

    My best friend’s wedding was my all time favorite too.. That was the first and still the movie that made me cry.. I’ve watched it for over 50 times.. and I’m still gonna watch it till I die.. Memorize ko na nga lhat ng lines from start to end, I can re-write the whole script.. Ganun ako ka-addict sa My Bestfriend’s Wedding..

  2. hi ME…. grabe lang yung adiksyon mo sa my bestfriend’s wedding bilang tao. ako rin dati, sobrang inlove ako sa pelikulang yun. apat na beses ko lang naman siya inulit-ulit. di ko lang alam kung anong maging epekto niya sakin pag pinanood ko siya uli ngayon.

  3. Sinong bang makakalimot sa tulang yun ng 10 things…

    minemorize namin yun eh tapos with feelings pang sinasabi lalo na yung last lines… HAHA. kadiri…

  4. Pingback: 10 Things I Hate About You (1999) Watch Free Full Movie | WatchMovie

Leave a Reply

